Halloween Delight #1 2015

This is super nerve wracking! Officially, this is my first post on this blog. I recently decided to pick up a hobby and it seemed like kismet when I started watching Jennifer McGuire and Kristina Werner on YouTube. What started off as “oh that’s so cute” quickly morphed into “I’d like to try that.” I am a newbie to crafting, but I love card making. There are so many styles and so much to fall in love with. I finally made the decision to try out crafting and Halloween is my first holiday project.

Pumpkin Night
Pumpkin Night

To start, for my top card panel I used a solid white piece of white 90lb Springhill digital cardstock. I then used my Ranger mini blending tool along with Ranger Mini Distress Ink in salty ocean,  Ranger Dye Ink Pad in Blue Ribbon and Colorbox archival dye ink in Wicked Black to create a night time scene for my pumpkins.

20151029_235043

After allowing the backdrop to dry I took some Ranger texture paste, a palette knife and my Heidi Swapp Confetti stencil to spread a few stars across the “night sky.” This was my first stab at adding texture paste as a dimensional addition to my cards and I think I did okay. 🙂 While allowing it to dry, I moved on to die cutting my pumpkins. I used an Echo Park Paper Co. Designer Dies Christmas Pumpkins Autumn die set with some plain green cardstock and some orange textured cardstock that I had in my personal stash.

Once the texture paste dried I cut down one of the pumpkin papers from Doodlebug’s October 31st 6×6 paper pad collection and adhered it to my card base (A6 papaya folded card from Papersource.com). It was then time to assemble my card! I adhered the stems to the pumpkins and the actual pumpkins to the card panel with Tombow mono multi-liquid glue.

Now for the boo-boos. hehe I attempted to use my Hero Arts pigment ink in Unicorn to stamp my sentiment (Taylored Expressions Big Bold Halloween set), but it was a NO GO. To cover it, I re-stamped the sentiment on matching green cardstock with My Favorite Things hybrid ink in Black Licorice and used an adhesive runner on top of it.

Ta da! My card is complete.

-Kelly

 

 

Leave a Reply

