Halloween Delight #6 – Sisterly Love

20151003_thisone2

This card is particularly special to me because I created it for my older sister who is a teacher in Northern California. I always tease her about her similarities to a witch and when I saw this Stampendous stamp I knew that’s what I wanted to make the focal point of her Halloween card.

The card base for this card was a A6 folded card in Poppy from papersource.com. The card panel was chosen from the Taylored Expressions Hocus Pocus 6×6 paper pad (item #TEPP102). I cut down this sheet with my Fiskar SureCut cardmaking paper trimmer and adhered it to the card base with a no name adhesive runner. I took a black sheet of cardstock from my Recollections 65lb Sassy cardstock set and used a Lawn Fawn Stitched rectangle die to cut out a stitched card panel.

With fear and trembling I moved on to my embossing. This is a gorgeous technique, but IMO can sometimes be very finicky. Through trial and error I’ve learned that your results can have a lot to do with your weather conditions. Prior to trying this for my sister’s card I had attempted heat embossing several times. The first two attempted failures I attribute to user error (learning the heating gun and proper procedure with the watermark ink pad) and the last failure [I still fail sometimes 🙂 ] was due to a terrible heatwave in Los Angeles. I digress. I used my Versamark watermark pad to stamp the image and went over it with WOW embossing powder in Fluorescent Orange. Success!

Supplies
Supplies

I think all cardmakers can recall when they had their first real accomplishment with the embossing powder technique. I literally jumped up and danced around my kitchen. I was that excited.

It was now time to assemble my card. I knew that I wanted the witch image to jump out at my sister so I took my Elmer’s craft mounting tape and used it to pop the card panel up. To finish the card I took my Taylored Expressions Big Bold Halloween stamp set and stamped the sentiment Trick or Treat Smell my Feet on the inside of the card with my Ranger Pigment Ink pad in Black Tie. I slipped it inside a black envelope and then inside of a bubble mailer, labeled it FRAGILE DO NOT BEND and mailed it off.

I’m happy to say that my sister loved the card and used it to decorate her desk at work.

Sister's work desk
Sister’s work desk

-Kelly

Leave a Reply

