Halloween Delight #7 – dipping into Tim Holtz Distress Inks

20151013_215855
I was in Michaels with my mom and saw a display for Halloween supplies for sale and what did I get – a set of Tim Holtz mini Distress inks and a Recollections Haunted House stamp. The ink shades were spiced marmalade, seedless preserves, black soot and crushed olive. I was super excited to start my Distress Ink collection.

recollections haunted house stamp

inks

I knew I wanted this to be the focal point of my next card. I stamped this on a piece of plain white cardstock (90lb) with MFT Hybrid ink in Black Licorice and die cut it with a rectangle die from a Sizzix rectangle framelit die set I bought from Zulily. Brainstorming on the fly, I decided to use a Taylored Expressions Tangled Webs embossing folder on a A2 notecard and then color it with my distress inks. This would be the first time I ever used an embossing folder so I made sure to read the directions to achieve the best sandwich for my Vintaj Big Kick machine.

Moving on, I tackled the blending of the three colors I purchased. I didn’t think they would blend so well together, but they actually did and even if they hadn’t I knew my main Haunted House image would disguise the color separations. For extra interest I opened my trusty bag of pre-made My Mind’s Eye die cuts (Something Wicked bag set) and grabbed three banners. After fiddling with their positions, I adhered them with an adhesive runner. Almost done…I then found myself with a need for DIMENSION so I added mounting tape to the back of the haunted house and attached it to the card base.

Fin!

20151013_215855

-Kelly

Leave a Reply

